Off-Campus Access
You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.
If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.
Comments (0)
Core Print Reference Resources
Alternatives to Google or Wikipedia
- Encyclopedia.comProvides access to a collection of online encyclopedias from established traditional publishers.
- ScienceResearch.com"a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced 'federated search technology' to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results. Accelerates your research by returning the most relevant results from over 300 authoritative science and technology collections to one ... removes duplicate results, and then weighs each result for relevance according to how closely it matches your search word or phrase."--publisher
- Scientific WebPlusExcellent scientific web search engine from Thomson Reuters.
- ScirusExcellent scientific web search engine from Elsevier. Also searches selected journal sources. Limit features are similar to features in journal databases.
Online Reference Sources
- Acronyms Search / Indiana University Chemistry Library
- American Heritage Dictionary of Science
- CHEMnetBASESearch publications for free, but full-text online requires payment. Search the library catalog to see if we have the same publication in print.
- Compendium of Chemical Terminology / International Union of Pure & Applied Chemistry
- Electrochemistry Dictionary and Encyclopedia
- Knovel Critical Tables (2nd Edition)Selected text and tables available free online.
- Oxford Reference Online
- Pharmaceutical Medicine Dictionary
- Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater Valparaiso University students and faculty may request login and password at the Christopher Center Reference Desk. Logins and passwords cannot be given out over the telephone. Community users may use this resource in the Christopher Center Reference area.
Help with Reading Scientific and Technlogy Research
Ask Me! |
Contact Info Christopher Center for Library and Information Resources, Room 175 (219) 464-6183 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Get Help!
Face-to-face help is always available at the Circulation Desk. Help is also available at the Reference Desk Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm.
Call us on the phone at 219.464.6890
Chat with us on Google Talk at valporefdesk.
E-mail us via this link.
Doing Research
Doing Science : Design, Analysis, and Communication of Scientific research
Call Number: Q 180 .A1 V35 2009
Covers each stage of research, from formulating questions and gathering data to developing experiments and analyzing results and finally to the many ways for presenting results.--from publisher description







Loading...
