This is the "Evidence-Based Practice" page of the "Nursing Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Nursing 201Nursing 275Nursing 460Where's MY class?

Nursing Resources 

Recommended academic resources for Valpo's College of Nursing students.
Last update: Feb 04th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Evidence-Based Practice             Print Page
  
 

EBP Literature System

Haynes, R. B. (2007, January). Of studies, syntheses, synopses, summaries, and systems: the 5S evolution of information services for evidence-based healthcare decisions. Evidence-Based Nursing, 10(1), 6-7.

 

Guides & Tutorials

Evidence Based Nursing, Health Sciences Library, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
http://www.hsl.unc.edu/Services/Tutorials/EBN/index.htm

Using Information Resources...Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice
http://www.lib.odu.edu/libassist/tutorials/nursing/section6/index.html

University of Minnesota: Evidence-Based Nursing http://evidence.ahc.umn.edu/ebn.htm

University of Iowa Hardin Health Sciences Library: Evidence Based Practice http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/eb.html

Healthlinks: University of Washington Health Sciences Libraries http://healthlinks.washington.edu/ebp

Healthlinks: Basic Introduction to EBP Resources http://healthlinks.washington.edu/hsl/classes/evidence/

Healthlinks: EPB Tools Summary http://healthlinks.washington.edu/ebp/ebptools.html

Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine, Duke University Medical Center Library (not nursing-specific)
http://www.hsl.unc.edu/services/tutorials/EBM/index.htm

 
 

Overview

According to the Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, "evidence-based practice (EBP) refers to nursing practice that utilizes research findings as the foundation for nurses' decisions, activities, and interactions with clients" (2006, p. 183).

The encyclopedia entry continues on, noting that "the focus of EBP is its emphasis on integrating the best available research evidence within the clinical, patient, and organizational context of an institution to attain high-quality and cost-effective care." According to Hewitt-Taylor (2002), evidence-based practice is a process that entails six elements:

  1. selecting an area of practice that requires an evidence base,
  2. making decisions about what constitutes evidence,
  3. conducting a systematic search for evidence,
  4. evaluating individual pieces of evidence,
  5. synthesizing the findings of these sources into a cohesive whole, and
  6. applying this evidence appropriately to patient care situations." (2002, p. 47)

    Fitzpatrick, J. J., & Wallace, M. (Eds.) (2006). Encyclopedia of nursing research. New York: Springer. Christopher Center, Reference, RT81.5 .E53 2006

Hewitt-Taylor, J. (2002, December 18). Continuing professional development: clinical development: evidence-based practice. Nursing Standard, 17(14/15), 47-52.

Valpo EBP Resources

  • CINAHL  
    THE definitive database for nursing. Updated monthly, it includes nursing articles from worldwide scientific literature, health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.
  • MEDLINE  
    Accessed via PubMed, MEDLINE is a freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
  • Cochrane Library  
    The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high–quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision–making, including Cochrane reviews, systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individua
  • JBI COnNECT  
    Created by the Joanna Briggs Institute, JBI COnNECT is an online gateway to a collection of evidence-based resources and tools. If you are having access problems, click on the small blue circle following the words "JBI COnNECT" for more information.
  • Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source  
    This database provides full-text access to many nursing journals. It is NOT as comprehensive as CINAHL and should be used in addition to, not instead of, CINAHL.
  • Evidence based Nursing (journal)  
    Search the online archive back to 1998. While Valpo doesn't subscribe, you may "register for a free account that provides access to all pre-2006 articles" (publisher note). For articles published since 2006, use your Valpo interlibrary loan account.
 

Other Guideline & Review Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ): EBPractice http://www.ahrq.gov/clinic/epcix.htm

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse http://www.qualitymeasures.ahrq.gov/

National Guideline Clearinghouse http://www.guideline.gov/

PubMed Clinical Queries http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/clinical.shtml

Clinical Trials.gov http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct/gui

MedlinePlus: Clinical Trials http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/clinicaltrials.html (consumer-oriented)

BMJ Clinical Evidence http://clinicalevidence.bmj.com/ceweb/index.jsp 

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine http://www.cebm.net/?o=1013

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine: Download Tools http://www.cebm.net/index.aspx?o=1023

The TRIP Database http://www.tripdatabase.com/AboutUs/Index.html

Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library http://www.nursinglibrary.org/Portal/main.aspx?PageID=4001

National Institute of Nursing http://www.ninr.nih.gov/

Evidence-based Medicine Resource Center http://www.ebmny.org/

American FactFinder http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=eng

 

Ask Me!

Profile ImageTrisha Mileham, Librarian
Contact Info:
Christopher Center 267
219.464.5693
Send Email

 

Tips: Valpo EBP Resources

These short presentations provide you with tips and screenshots.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait