Bio 125: BiotechnologyBio 172: Diversity of LifeBio 290: Arthropods and DiseaseBio 440: EcologyBio 493A: Diet and DiseaseBio 493B: Sex and EvolutionBio 493C: Animal BehaviorBio 590: Advanced Physiology and PathophysiologyWhere's MY class?
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Biology Resources Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology Resources Guide  

Recommended academic resources for Valpo's biology students
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.

If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.

 

Evaluating Websites

Search engines like Google find web sites of all levels of quality.

These web sites were chosen by your librarian based on the following criteria. Keep these things in mind when deciding if a web page is reliable and appropriate for your research.

  • credible authorship
  • objectivity
  • accuracy
  • recent updates
  • educational purpose

Always check with your instructor to find out if you can use free (non-Library) web sites for your assignments. And if looking for journal articles, library databases are the most efficient tool for searching. See the green Find Articles tab above.

 

Doing Research and Literature Reviews

Cover Art
Doing Science : Design, Analysis, and Communication of Scientific research
Call Number: Q180 .A1 V35 2009
Covers each stage of research, from formulating questions and gathering data to developing experiments and analyzing results and finally to the many ways for presenting results.--from publisher description

Cover Art
Preparing Literature Reviews (Second Edition)
Call Number: Q180.55 .E9 P36 2004

Cover Art
Practical Research : Planning and Design
Call Number: Q180.55 .M4 L43 2010

 

Help with Reading Scientific and Technology Research

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nora Belzowski
Contact Info
Phone: 219.464.5023
Email: Nora.belzowski@valpo.edu
Office Room #: 268
Send Email

Ask Me!

Profile Image
Donna Resetar
Contact Info
Christopher Center for Library and Information Resources, Room 175
(219) 464-6183
Send Email
 

Get Help!

General face-to-face help is always available at the 2nd Floor Circulation Desk. 

Call us on the phone at 219.464.5500.

E-mail us via this link.

Alternatives to Google or Wikipedia

  • Encyclopedia.com
    Provides access to a collection of online encyclopedias from established traditional publishers.
  • ScienceResearch.com
    "a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced 'federated search technology' to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results. Accelerates your research by returning the most relevant results from over 300 authoritative science and technology collections to one ... removes duplicate results, and then weighs each result for relevance according to how closely it matches your search word or phrase."--publisher
  • Scientific WebPlus
    Excellent scientific web search engine from Thomson Reuters.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip