Grant Seeking - Grant Writing
Are you seeking funding? For a nonprofit, a 501(c)(3) organization, or yourself? The Grant Seeking and Philanthropy guides developed by the Christopher Center team will help get you started.
Valparaiso University is a collaborating collection of the Foundation Center library which gives any individual or nonprofit who visits the Christopher Center free access to the Foundation Directory Online Professional database, the Foundation Grants to Individuals database, and the Philanthropy In/Sight database and books published by the Foundation Center. The databases are only available within the Christopher Center during regular hours. Make a visit to campus to see all that the Valparaiso University Foundation Center Cooperating Collection has to offer!
The Foundation Center maintains a free and extremely useful online resource called GrantSpace - Knowledge Base. GrantSpace organizes free online trainings, podcasts, sample documents, links to credible resources, and expert advice from Foundation staff on topics related to fundraising planning, proposal writing, finding funders, establishing a nonprofit, and government grants to individuals. Loads of high-quality information that would take hours to locate on your own -- a great place to start your grant seeking or non-profit research.
These pages provide you with suggested places to start your grant seeking research. Since research projects, areas of interest, and funding needs vary greatly, there might be additional grant seeking resources that would be useful to you. Use these pages as a place to start. If more resources are needed, contact Kim Whalen (information to the right) and she can provide you with additional suggestions.
Places to Start
- Are you a nonprofit seeking funding?The Foundation Center's "Guide to Funding Research" will walk you through the process of research and writing grant proposals. The "Initial Questions" section provides useful answers to common questions.
- Are you an individual seeking funding?The Foundation Center has a well-organized list of resources for individuals seeking funding for their own education, work/project, personal assistance, or business.
- Are you an individual seeking funding for a business?Foundations do not typically provide funding to start or expand a business. This page explains why -- and where to go for more guidance.
- More info for individuals seeking grants for businesses...The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) provides useful information about the types of support are available for small businesses.
Helpful Books and Guides
Part Two: Public/Government Funding Opportunities;
Part Three: Private/Foundation Funding Opportunities;
Part Four: Private/Corporate Funding Opportunities
Ask Me! |
Contact Info Stop by my office, Room 267 in the Christopher Center, give me a call at 219/464-5754, or drop me an email at kimberly.whalen@valpo.edu. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Valpo Faculty & Student Assistance
- Office of Sponsored and Undergraduate ResearchThe office provides assistance to those grantseekers who may have questions about where to look for grants, managing grants, and institutional information needed to complete grant applications.
Get Help!
Face-to-face help is always available at the Circulation Desk. Help is also available at the Reference Desk Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm.
Call us on the phone at 219.464.6890
Chat with us on Google Talk at valporefdesk.
E-mail us via this link.



Loading...
