Department & Agency Symbols
Congressional Research
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information   Tags: government_information, local_information, politics  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/governmentinfo Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Government Information Databases

Just for Fun...

  • Government Comics Collection
    Richard Graham, an assistant professor and media services librarian at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, runs the UNL Libraries' Government Comics Collection, an online database of scanned copies of informational comic books produced by government agencies.
  • FedFlix
    Public domain stock footage theater from the National Technical Information Service.
 

About Government Information at VU

Government Information Services at the Christopher Center for Library and Information Resources is committed to providing information and reference assistance to the VU community and the citizens of the First Congressional District of Indiana. Valparaiso University was established as a selective federal depository library of the U.S. government in 1930 and continues in selecting about 4.08% of the documents offered to libraries. In addition, VU is also a depository for the state of Indiana.

While there is no service desk specifically for documents, assistance may be obtained from the Government Information Services Librarian (Rm 264) and the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor. The documents may be accessed at the Christopher Center whenever the library is open. [Library Hours]

Finding Documents at the Christopher Center

U.S. Government documents may be found by using indexes, such as the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (formerly the Monthly Catalog), Marcive WebDocs (VU community access only) or the library's catalog

U.S. Government documents are listed in the library catalog. Most print documents have been reclassified into the Library of Congress (LC) classification system and are kept with the circulating book collection on the 3rd and 4th floors of the Christopher Center. Some volumes of large series are housed in the ASRS and can be requested through the catalog.

A small collection of ephemeral publications are housed on the 2nd floor. These are arranged by SuDocs number.

The documents in microfiche are on the 2nd floor in the Microforms Room (251) next to the Circulation Desk, and the CD-ROMs are in the Media Area on the 1st floor. Both of these collections are also arranged by SuDocs number. Map documents are in the map cases on the 1st floor.

If the Library does not own the document you need, it might be available on the Internet. Check for the title in the Catalog of U.S. Government publications of GPO Access or by using the many databases made available to the public by the government.

Interlibrary loan is also available for government documents for VU students, faculty and staff.

Indiana State Document Collection

Indiana documents may be found by using the Checklist of Indiana State Documents from the Indiana State Library. VU's collection of Indiana documents includes the Indiana House and Senate Journals; reports from the State Departments of Health, Natural Resources and Commerce; and labor and market information from Indiana Workforce Development.

Indiana documents have been cataloged and appear in the library catalog. The documents are kept with the circulating book collection on the 3rd and 4th floors of the Christopher Center.

If VU does not own the document you need, it might be available online. Check for information from Access Indiana or by using the library's State Information and Local Government Information webpages.

 

Depository

Depository Logo

 

Government Documents Specialist

Kathy Rhynard
(219) 464-6121
Kathy.Rhynard(at)valpo.edu

 

Government Information Services Librarian

Mark Robison
(219) 464-6286   
mark.robison@valpo.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip