What Happening in Higher Ed?
As often as we can, we'll post links to information about innovative, controversial or just plain interesting things going on in higher education. Check back to see what we are thinking about...
- What You Need to Know About MOOC'sThe Chronicle of Higher Education compiled a useful resource page with a timeline to articles detailing the development of MOOC's (Massive Open Online Courses).
- Washington College Instructors are 'Flipping' the Way they Teach'This Seattle Times article explains how several faculty members from Washington state colleges have flipped their classrooms. Interesting stuff!
- 7 Things You Should Know About... Flipped Classrooms (pdf)Educause briefly discusses Flipped Classrooms and the implications for teaching and learning in this 2012 document.
Top Education Databases
- Education AbstractsThis database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing back to 1983 and abstracts back to 1994.
- Academic Search PremierThe world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals.
- Other Databases with Education Coverage
Browse the Stacks
LB2300-2430 Higher education
LB2326.4-2330 Institutions of higher education
LB2331.7-2335.8 Teaching personnel
LB2341 Supervision and administration. Business management
LB2361-2365 Curriculum
LB2371-2372 Graduate education
Subject Headings
Use these subject headings in the library catalog and in WorldCat:
College Teaching
Education, Higher
Educational Evaluation
Grading and Marking
About the Teaching Resource Center
The Christopher Center is the home of the Teaching Resource Center (TRC) which is located in the 4th floor Faculty Study. The TRC regularly sponsors workshops and other programs to help VU faculty strive for excellence in teaching and promote active learning.
To find out more about the Teaching Resource Center, visit the TRC website or call (219) 464-5960. Upcoming workshop information is also listed on their site.
Books in our Collection
Suggestions?
Do you know of great teaching resources that the Christopher Center should add to our collection? Tell Us!
Library on Facebook!
Ask Me!
Library Liaison to Teaching Resource Center:
Kim Whalen, Assistant Professor for Library Services
Office: Christopher Center, Room 267
Telephone: 219.464.5754






Loading...
