ECE 453: Communication SystemsCE 490: Sustainable Transportation
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Engineering Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Resources   Tags: engineering  

Recommended academic resources for Valpo's College of Engineering students
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.

If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.

Alternatives to Google or Wikipedia

  • Encyclopedia.com
    Provides access to a collection of online encyclopedias from established traditional publishers.
  • ScienceResearch.com
    "a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced 'federated search technology' to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results. Accelerates your research by returning the most relevant results from over 300 authoritative science and technology collections to one ... removes duplicate results, and then weighs each result for relevance according to how closely it matches your search word or phrase."--publisher
  • Scientific WebPlus
    Excellent scientific web search engine from Thomson Reuters.
 

Help with Reading Scientific and Technology Research

 

Useful Reference Books

Cover Art
Civil Engineering Handbook
Call Number: Ref. TA 151 .C57 2003
The introductory paragraphs for each chapter are useful to anyone exploring civil engineering as a career.

Cover Art
The Engineering Handbook
Call Number: Ref. TA 151 .E424 2005
A circulating copy is shelved on the 4th floor. This handbook is highly recommended by faculty in the College of Engineering.

Cover Art
Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals
Call Number: Ref. TA 151 .E8 2009

Cover Art
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers
Call Number: Ref. TA151 .S8 2004

Cover Art
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook
Call Number: Ref. TJ 151 .M395 2006
Students researching engineering careers should look at volume 2, chapters 18-21.

Cover Art
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
Call Number: Ref. TJ 151 .S82 2007

Cover Art
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering
Call Number: Ref. TK 9 .W55 1999
In spite of its age and title, there is much in this encyclopedia of use and interest to all areas of engineering. Students researching engineering careers should read volume 17, pages 270-276. Students researching electrical engineering careers should also read volume 4, pages 253-255.

Standards

PRINT

Annual book of ASTM standards / American Society for Testing and Materials   Ref. TA401 .A653  The Library purchases ASTM standards selectively at the request of College of Engineering faculty.  Volume 00.01 is the complete index, which we purchase annually to help students and faculty determine the standard needed.

National electrical code / National Fire Protection Association  Ref. TK223 .N27 2011

National electrical safety code / American National Standards Institute  Ref. TK152 .A43 2007

ONLINE

  • ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
    Access is limited to current Valparaiso University students, faculty and staff for the sole purpose of academic research. Use by others or for other reasons is a violation of the ASTM license agreement. The Digital Library includes the ASTM collection of industry-standards, a online dictionary, and access to selected ASTM journal and symposia content.
  • IEEE Standards Association
    While you cannot access the full-text of the IEEE standards without a charge, you can see which standards are current and which have been withdrawn or superseded.
  • NIST Virtual Library
    National Institute of Standards and Technology home page. Links to their Standards page, their publications page, their free Journal of Research, and their library catalog.
  • Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
    Valparaiso University students and faculty may request login and password at the Christopher Center Reference Desk. Logins and passwords cannot be given out over the telephone. Community users may use this resource in the Christopher Center Reference area.

Sources for Data

Ask Me!

Profile Image
Donna Resetar
Contact Info
Christopher Center for Library and Information Resources, Room 175
(219) 464-6183
Send Email
 

Follow us!

Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter

 

Get Help!

General face-to-face help is always available at the 2nd Floor Circulation Desk. 

Call us on the phone at 219.464.5500.

E-mail us via this link.

 

Guide to the Literature

Cover Art
Using the Engineering Literature
Call Number: T 10.7 .U85 2012

 

Doing Research and Literature Reviews

Cover Art
Doing Science : Design, Analysis, and Communication of Scientific research
Call Number: Q180 .A1 V35 2009
Covers each stage of research, from formulating questions and gathering data to developing experiments and analyzing results and finally to the many ways for presenting results.--from publisher description

Cover Art
Preparing Literature Reviews (Second Edition)
Call Number: Q180.55 .E9 P36 2004

Cover Art
Practical Research : Planning and Design
Call Number: Q180.55 .M4 L43 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip