This is the "Get Started" page of the "Environmental Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Science   Tags: climate_change, environment  

Suggested academic resources for Valpo's environmental science students.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/environment Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.

If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.

 

Help with Reading Scientific and Technology Research

 

Reference Books

Click on the title to see the book record in the Valparaiso University library catalog.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering
Call Number: REF GE10 .P43 2008
The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering will be a valuable reference tool for anyone working, whether directly or indirectly, with the environment. The dictionary describes many of the acts, organisations and requirements related to the legislation of the environment, giving particular emphasis to those of the United States of America. Thus, it will be particularly useful to those seeking a greater understanding of the US perspective on the environmental question.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Disasters: Environmental Catastrophes and Human Tragedies
Call Number: REF GB5014 .G86 2008
"Gunn catalogs 184 natural and human-induced disasters chronologically, beginning with an Indonesian volcano in 74,000 BCE and ending with a 2007 tornado in Greensburg, KS. Articles, varying in length from two paragraphs to several pages, include some well-known and absorbing accounts."--SLJ Review

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science & Engineering
Call Number: REF TD9 .E5 2006
Spans the entire spectrum of environmental science and engineering. Still the most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in this field, the monumental two-volume encyclopedia has expanded to include 87 articles on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health, to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, toxicology, radioactive waste, and water treatment.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Global Warming Science and Technology
Call Number: REF QC981.8.G56 J638 2009
"Focusing on research since 1980, the encyclopedia examines global warming from a climatological, biological, geologic, oceanographic, and geographic perspective. Well written and easy to read, 300 entries cover a wide range of topics. Diverse subjects include polar bears, crop yields, coral reefs, infectious diseases, wildfires, vegetation shifts, and glacial collapse. Each entry includes a bibliography, and a master bibliography features over 2,000 citations from varied sources that emphasize the growing cross-disciplinary approach to climate change."--Choice Reviews

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters
Call Number: REF GB1601.4 .E52 2009
"The scope of this set is vast, covering streams, ponds, wetlands, rivers, lakes, reservoirs, botany, ecology, microbiology, zoology, chemistry, physics, international law, groundwater, pollution, restoration, and more for inland waters worldwide. Articles are scholarly and carefully edited for clarity, with generous cross-referencing."--Choice Reviews

Cover Art
Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources
Call Number: REF GE105 .E5825 2006
Environmental Issues offers insights into the origins of environmental consciousness, the complexities of environmental science, and the sometimes contentious arguments surrounding environmental issues.

Standards

  • NIST Virtual Library
    National Institute of Standards and Technology home page. Links to their Standards page, their publications page, their free Journal of Research, and their library catalog.
  • Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
    Valparaiso University students and faculty may request login and password at the Christopher Center Reference Desk. Logins and passwords cannot be given out over the telephone. Community users may use this resource in the Christopher Center Reference area.

Ask Me!

Profile Image
Donna Resetar
Contact Info
Christopher Center for Library and Information Resources, Room 175
(219) 464-6183
Send Email
 

Get Help!

General face-to-face help is always available at the 2nd Floor Circulation Desk. 

Call us on the phone at 219.464.5500.

E-mail us via this link.

 

Follow us!

Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip