Health Care Leadership 303Nursing 201Nursing 275Nursing 415Nursing 460Nursing 662Nursing 670Nursing 770Nursing 799Where's MY class?
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Nursing Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Resources  

Recommended academic resources for Valpo's College of Nursing students.
Last Updated: May 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Scientific Publication Cycle - Nursing Information

The Scientific Publication Cycle helps us to understand how scientific knowledge is generated, communicated, and accessed.  For many of your assignments, peer-reviewed journal articles will be the only type of published information that is acceptable for use.  For other assignments, secondary resources including evidence summaries, systematic reviews, textbooks, or other secondary sources are acceptable.  

If your professor doesn't specify what types of information is acceptable, make sure to ask!  Also make sure to clarify if there are any limitations as to the years that you can use or any other criteria.

 

Off-Campus Access

You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.

If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.

 

Get Help!

Face-to-face help is always available at the Circulation Desk. Help is also available at the Reference Desk Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm.

Call us on the phone at 219.464.6890

Chat with us on Google Talk at valporefdesk.

E-mail us via this link.

 

News for Nursing students

Welcome! This Subject Guide offers your quick, guided access to recommended resources for nursing students.  Click on a tab above to access that particular resource area.

As of Sunday, November 11th, our access to JBI was changed to access through OVID.  Though the search interface is a bit different, the same full-text content to evidence summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, systematic reviews, etc. exists.  With the change, we did lose current full-text access to various JBI published journals including International Journal of Nursing Practice.  To check on journal access, use the Find Articles > By Journal or Magazine Title links.  And don't forget to take advantage of Interlibrary Loan to fill in any access gaps.          

Are you an Off-Campus/Distance Learning student? If so, read the box below this one to learn about our article document delivery service.

 

DNP Evidence-Based Project Reports - Access to Previous Reports

Looking for a Valpo DNP Evidence-Based Practice Project Report? 

Reports from many of the 2012 and 2011 projects are available within ValpoScholar, the University's institutional repository.  Reports from 2010 are being electronically processed and will be included as soon as copyright permissions are received.  Check ValpoScholar for regular updates.    

Click on the Theses, Honors Papers, and Project Reports link and then Evidence-Based Project Reports link.  Some of the reports are available full-text from off-campus without login.  Other off-campus use will require you to enter your VU username and password for access.   When off-campus, look for the sentence that says, “Off-campus Valpo Users: To download campus access documents, please use the following link to log into our proxy server with your Valpo username and password.” at the top of the page. Click the "log into our proxy server" link and enter your VU username and password -- don’t click on the “Download” button. 

While being processed, all reports from 2010 will still be listed within the library's catalog with full-text copies available on Reserve at the 2nd Floor Circulation Desk.  Reports can be checked out of the Christopher Center for 3 days at a time.  2010 authors include Sandria Lalasingh-Nixon, Dana J. Robinson, Margaret A. Lewandowski, Elizabeth L. Finley, Kristen L. Mauk, Patricia A. Nielsen, Toni Baldwin-Dufour, Roxanne Wolfram, and Suzanne E. Zentz. 

 

Article Delivery to Off-Campus/ Distance Learning Students

In addition to our interlibrary loan service, Valparaiso University Christopher Center Library Services provides free-of-charge article photocopying services for items we own for off-campus students and faculty who meet one of these criteria:

  • For (non-law) students: You live 30 or more miles from Valparaiso and you do not come to campus to attend class
  • For (non-law) faculty: You are on sabbatical and living at least 30 or more miles from Valparaiso
  • For (non-law) faculty: You are teaching abroad at one of VU's International Study programs

To use this service, please follow these steps:

  1. Please complete the online Application Form. We will not process any requests until we have the Application form on file and it has been approved. You will be notified when your application is approved.
  2. Use ILLiad to place article requests. This is the same system used for Interlibrary Loan.
    - If you have not done so already, register for interlibrary loan -- ILLiad.

If you have any questions about document delivery, read more here or please contact us at 219-464-5363 or ill (at) valpo.edu .

Ask Me!

Profile Image
Kim Whalen
Contact Info
Stop by my office, Room 267 in the Christopher Center, give me a call at 219/464-5754, or drop me an email at kimberly.whalen@valpo.edu.
Send Email
 

Library on Facebook!

Become a fan of the library!

Find us on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip