DictionariesEncyclopediasCompanions
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Philosophy Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy Resources  

Recommended academic resources for Valpo's philosophy students.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This Subject Guide offers you quick, guided access to recommended resources for philosophy students.  Click on a tab above to access that particular resource area.

 

Get Help!

General face-to-face help is always available at the 2nd Floor Circulation Desk. 

Call us on the phone at 219.464.5500.

E-mail us via this link.

 

Key Resources in Philosophy

Philosopher's IndexCovers philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. Indexes and abstracts books and over 270 journals published in the U.S. and the Western World from 1940-present.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: The SEP is an online encyclopedia that is maintained by an editorial board and updated quarterly. 

Journal of philosophy :  From 1921 through present are available.

                        
from 01/06/1921 to 12/31/2007 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection
from 01/01/2003 to present in Single Journals
in Christopher Center Print Holdings
in VU Law Library Print Holdings
from 01/06/1921 to 12/21/1922 in JSTOR Free Early Journal Content

The Philosophical Gourmet: Brian Leiter's Ranking of Graduate Programs in Philosophy in the English-Speaking World-- a good place to explore current scholars and programs, as well as links to other resources.

Notre Dame Philosophical Review: Substantive, high quality book reviews on scholarly philosophy books. Reviews are completed within 6-12 months of a book’s publication and are “commissioned and vetted” by an editorial board.

 

Off-Campus Access

You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.

If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.

Ask Me!

Profile Image
Judy Miller
Contact Info
Special Collections Librarian
Christopher Center 3rd Floor
x5808
Send Email

For More Help

Profile Image
Rebecca Butler
Contact Info
Library Fellow
Visiting Assistant Professor of Library Services
CCLR 262
x6859
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip