This is the "Get Started" page of the "Political Science Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Political Science Resources   Tags: congress, government, political_science, politics  

Recommended academic resources for Valpo's political science students
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2012 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/politicalscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

Check out these related Guides:

 

Get Help!

Face-to-face help is always available at the Circulation Desk. Help is also available at the Reference Desk Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm.

Call us on the phone at 219.464.6890

Chat with us by Instant Message:

E-mail us via this link.

 

Need Help with a Topic?

Here are some recent articles from Roll Call Politics...

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Reference Books

Encyclopedias and other reference books are great ways to find background information, bibliographies of recommended books, and search terms for database searching. Here is a small sample of what you can find in the 2nd floor Reference area:

Public Governanace Ref. JF1351 .P8213 2007

CQ Almanac Ref. JK1 .C66

Safire's Political Dictionary Ref. JK9 .S2 2008

Guide to the Presidency Ref. JK516 .G83 2008

Official Congressional Directory Ref. JK1011 .A32

CQ's Politics in America Ref. JK1012 .C63

Guide to Congress Ref. JK1021 .C565

Congress and the Nation Ref. JK1021 .C62

The Book of the States Ref. JK2403 .B6

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations Ref. JZ1160 .N65

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution Ref. KF4548 .E53

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court Ref. KF8742 .W567

Encyclopedia of the United Nations Ref. KZ4968 .O84 2003

 

Off-Campus Access

You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.

If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.

Ask me!

Profile Image
Rob Vega
Contact Info
Christopher Center 264
Phone: 219-464-5023
Send Email
 

Library on Facebook!

Become a fan of the library!

Find us on Facebook!

 

Literature Review vs. Annotated Bibliography

According to the American Psychological Society:

Literature reviews...are critical evaluations of material that has already been published.  By organizing, integrating, and evaluating previously published material, authors of literature reviews consider the progress of research toward clarifying a problem.  In a sense, literature reviews are tutorials, in that authors

  • define and clarify the problem;
  • summarize previous investigations to inform the reader of the state of research;
  • identify relations, contradictions, gaps, and inconsistencies in the literature; and
  • suggest the next step or steps in solving the problem.

                                                                    from the Publication Manual of the APA, 6th ed., October 2009

 

A thorough definition of literature review can be found in The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Volume 2, pages 577-579, which is in our reference collection: H62.L456 2004 vol. 2.  Also in our reference collection: Doing a Literature Search by Chris Hart (H62.H2567 2001) which may help in the entire process.

Some good examples of literature reviews can be found in the following links:

Literature Review Handout from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  This link provides a good introduction to literature reviews as well as prewriting and writing strategies. 

St. Mary's University of Minnesota has an excellent list of online resources about literature reviews.  If one does not make sense, another should!

An annotated bibliography is, according to the Valpo's Library Research Strategy:

This type of bibliography consists of a list of citations to books, articles, documents, and other resources, with each citation followed by a brief, descriptive evaluation of the resource cited. The annotations tell your reading audience what the resource is about, the degree of quality/authority the resource possesses, and why you have chosen it for inclusion. Annotations usually vary from 100-150 words.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) has some great examples of annotated bibliographies; it may be easier to grasp the difference between the two by understanding them both.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip