THEO 364: Native American ReligionsTheo 493 Fall 2014Theo 200F Fall 2013Theo 200- BeckerTheo 317: The World of the New TestamentTheo 200- Global Christianity (Trexler)Theo 362: Islamic Religion and CultureTheo 329 Reform Dissent and HeresyTheo 200- Driver
This is the "Get Started" page of the "Theology Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theology Resources   Tags: bible, biblical_criticism, church, church_history, pentateuch, religion  

Recommended academic resources for Valpo's theology students
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/theology Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This Subject Guide offers you quick, guided access to recommended resources for theology students.  Click on a gold tab above to access that particular resource area.

 

Get Help!

General face-to-face help is always available at the 2nd Floor Circulation Desk. 

Call us on the phone at 219.464.5500.

E-mail us via this link.

Reference Resources for Theology

There are some great general reference works for theology in the collection on the second floor of the Christopher Center.  Here is a sample.

 

  • An Encyclopedia of religions in the United States : one hundred religious groups speak for themselves
  • The Encyclopedia of American religions, religious creeds
    a compilation of more than 450 creeds, confessions, statements of faith, and summaries of doctrine of religious and spiritual groups in the United States and Canada
  • Encyclopedia of religion
    v. 1. Aaron - Attention -- v. 2. Attributes of God - Butler, Joseph -- v. 3. Cabasilas, Nicholas - Cyrus II -- v. 4. Dacian rides - Esther -- v. 5. Eternity - God -- v. 6. Goddess worship - Iconoclasm -- v. 7. Iconography - Justin martyr -- v. 8. Ka'bah - Marx, Karl -- v. 9. Mary - Ndembu religion -- v. 10. Necromancy - Pindar -- v. 11. Pius IX - Rivers -- v. 12. Rnying ma pa school - Soul -- v. 13. South American Indian religions - Transcendence and immanence -- v. 14. Transcendental meditation
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica
    Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.

Online Resources

  • Oxford Reference Online: Religion and Philosophy
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica
    Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
  • Oxford Biblical Studies online  
      
    Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides unrivalled access to six essential Oxford editions of the Bible alongside commentary and annotations from study Bibles seamlessly combined with reference material and primary texts.
 

Off-Campus Access

You can gain off-campus access to the electronic resources (also called databases or journal collections) by clicking on the name of the database you’d like to access, and then logging in using your Valpo e-mail username and password.

If you have problems with this service, contact IT at 464-5678.

Ask Me!

Profile Image
Judy Miller
Contact Info
Special Collections Librarian
Christopher Center 3rd Floor
x5808
Send Email

For More Help

Profile Image
Rebecca Butler
Contact Info
Library Fellow
Visiting Assistant Professor of Library Services
CCLR 262
x6859
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip