This is the "Home" page of the "TRC Workshop Teaching Resources for Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

TRC Workshop Teaching Resources for Faculty   Tags: faculty, teaching  

This guide highlights resources that supplement Teaching Resource Center Workshops.
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.valpo.edu/trcworkshopresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What Happening in Higher Ed?

As often as we can, we'll post links to information about innovative, controversial or just plain interesting things going on in higher education. Check back to see what we are thinking about...

Top Education Databases

  • Education Abstracts
    This database indexes and abstracts articles from more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing back to 1983 and abstracts back to 1994.
  • Academic Search Complete
    This multi-disciplinary database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals, with full text for nearly 9,100 of those titles. More than 7,900 peer-reviewed titles are included. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
  • Other Databases with Education Coverage
 

Browse the Stacks

LB2300-2430  Higher education


LB2326.4-2330  Institutions of higher education


LB2331.7-2335.8
  Teaching personnel

LB2341  Supervision and administration. Business management


LB2361-2365
  Curriculum

LB2371-2372  Graduate education

 

Subject Headings

Use these subject headings in the library catalog and in WorldCat:

College Teaching

Education, Higher

Educational Evaluation

Grading and Marking

 

About the Teaching Resource Center

The Christopher Center is the home of the Teaching Resource Center (TRC) which is located in the 4th floor Faculty Study. The TRC regularly sponsors workshops and other programs to help VU faculty strive for excellence in teaching and promote active learning.

To find out more about the Teaching Resource Center, visit the TRC website or call (219) 464-5960.  Upcoming workshop information is also listed on their site. 

 

Books in our Collection

Cover Art
Academically Adrift: Limited Learning on College Campuses - Arum, Richard
Call Number: LA227.4 .A78 2011
Are undergraduates really learning anything once they get to college? The answer is no. As troubling as their findings are, the authors argue that for many faculty and administrators this conclusion will come as no surprise and is the expected result of a student body distracted by socializing or working and an institutional culture that puts undergraduate learning close to the bottom of the priority list.

Cover Art
The Art & Craft of College Teaching: A Guide for New Professors & Graduate Students - Rotenberg, Robert Louis
Call Number: LB2331 .R64 2007
Provides a hands-on, quick-start guide to the college classroom for those who are facing their first five years as independent teachers. In it, you’ll find the answers to some of college teachings most common questions: How do college students learn most effectively? What are the questions to consider when you develop a course for the first time? How can you help students become better thinkers? Why is the assessment of student learning important to the classroom teacher?

Cover Art
Developing Learner-Centered Teaching: A Practical Guide for Faculty - Blumberg, Phyllis
Call Number: LB2331 .B55 2009
Developing Learner-Centered Teaching offers a step-by-step plan for transforming any course from teacher-centered to the more engaging learner-centered model. Filled with self-assessments and worksheets that are based on each of the five practices identified in Maryellen Weimer's Learner-Centered Teaching, this groundbreaking book gives instructors, faculty developers, and instructional designers a practical and effective resource for putting the learner-centered model into action.

Cover Art
Professing To Learn: Creating Tenured Lives and Careers in the American Research University - Neumann, Anna
Call Number: LB1778.2 .N475 2009
Drawing on interviews with seventy-eight professors in diverse disciplines and fields at five major American research universities, Anna Neumann describes how tenured faculty shape and disseminate their own disciplinary knowledge while attending committee meetings, grading exams, holding office hours, administering programs and departments, and negotiating with colleagues. By exploring the intellectual activities pursued by these faculty and their ongoing efforts to develop and define their academic interests, Professing to Learn directs the attention of higher education professionals and policy makers to the core aim of higher education: the creation of academic knowledge through research, teaching, and service.

Cover Art
What the Best College Teachers Do - Bain, Ken
Call Number: LB2331 .B34 2004
What makes a great teacher great? Who are the professors students remember long after graduation? This book, the conclusion of a fifteen-year study, offers valuable answers for all educators. The short answer is--it's not what teachers do, it's what they understand. Lesson plans and lecture notes matter less than the special way teachers comprehend the subject and value human learning. Whether historians or physicists, in El Paso or St. Paul, the best teachers know their subjects inside and out--but they also know how to engage and challenge students and to provoke impassioned responses. Most of all, they believe in two things: that teaching matters, and that students can learn. Bain describes examples of ingenuity and compassion, of students' discoveries of new ideas and the depth of their own potential. --From publisher's description

 

Suggestions?

Do you know of great teaching resources that the Christopher Center should add to our collection? Tell Us!

 

Follow us!

Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter

 

Ask Me!

Library Liaison to Teaching Resource Center:

Kim Whalen, Assistant Professor for Library Services

Office: Christopher Center, Room 267
Telephone: 219.464.5754

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip